What I’ve Been Reading

Bit of a quiet week this week. I’ve only read two things?

Joe Sacco: On Satire

http://www.theguardian.com/world/ng-interactive/2015/jan/09/joe-sacco-on-satire-a-response-to-the-attacks?CMP=edit_2221
I think this is a very elegant response to current discussions about satire, highlighting the power of images and their relationship to power in society. It has also helped me in understanding why I often feel let down or distanced from satirical work.

Satire is meant to cut to the bone. But whose bone? What exactly is the target?

Quimby’s – Links
http://www.quimbys.com/links
This week I started the very exciting busy of planning a research trip (/holiday) to the Midwest of America, taking in the Design Principles and Practices conference in Chicago before driving over to explore Omaha, Nebraska. My Chicago planning lead me to the Quimby’s book and zine store website, and this amazing list of zine, small-press and Chicago-based links. An amazing resource!

Leave a Reply

