Introducing: What I’ve Been Reading!

In an effort to make the blog a bit more current, and also to give a bit of insight into my thinking process, I thought I’d introduce a (semi-)regular feature: What I’ve Been Reading!

It is exactly what you’d expect – a selection of things I’ve read recently and thought were worth sharing. Some of it might have popped up on my Facebook or Twitter, but I thought I’d round it all together here and make my own sort of online anthology. But enough intro, let’s just do this!

What I’ve Been Reading

Bim Adewunmi’s Twitter Feed
https://twitter.com/bimadew

Bim Adewunmi is a journalist. I went to her workshop at Feminista Summer School last year and it was great. Commentary on current affairs, politics and what have you alongside pop culture and general inspiration.

The Ferguson library gives a lesson in community http://www.salon.com/2014/11/25/the_ferguson_library_gives_a_lesson_in_community/

I remembered this week how much I love libraries, and then I read the news around Ferguson Municipal Library and felt even more love.

Art for a Few (HEA Annual Conference Presentation) – Penny Jane Burke, Jackie McManus https://www.heacademy.ac.uk/node/2827

During the course of researching HE art and design education (aka my day job) I found this presentation on the HEA website. A really absorbing overview of how power dynamics and cultural capital affect art school admissions.

When everyone is a feminist, is anyone? – Jessica Valenti http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/nov/24/when-everyone-is-a-feminist

Some good points raised in this piece. Including:

‘Eesha Pandit, a writer with the Crunk Feminist Collective … added that any “feminism that doesn’t include a race, class, gender, power and privilege analysis is incomplete”.’

and

‘It’s true: feminist can be a label, a practice and a lens by which we view the world. But maybe doing the work of feminism is more important than identifying as a feminist. After all, word isn’t just an identity – it’s a movement. It’s something that you do.’

DO NOT read the comments though… obviously…

The Little Friend – Donna Tartt
It’s not on the internet, it’s a book

I don’t read much fiction nowadays, so reading The Little Friend felt like an indulgence and an achievement. Although I wasn’t on board with everything in it I thought the descriptions of grief and depression were stifling and evocative.

Comments are open on this post, let me know what you’ve been reading!

Leave a Reply

