Man|Ren Atelier

As part of the Man|Ren artist exchange project, and to coincide with the Play Harder residency, I collaborated with a group of French artists on a remote publication.

In line with my current MA research the project explored methods of collaborative work, this time through the use of instructions sent across the Channel, aiming to catalyse creative relationships through social making. The final output was created by artists in France, with no input from me, and distributed at the Play Harder closing party.

As we were collaborating across disciplines, as well as countries, I really didn’t know what to expect. However, the finished publication, on the theme of ‘imagined Manchester’, was better than I could have dreamed! I am now sending over a second set of instructions, with the aim of finding out more about the process of making, and hope to continue to explore this collaboration in the future.

For work in progress photos of the collaboration, see the Mobil Home Facebook.

Note : As yet I am unable to fully credit the French artists involved, this will be rectified soon.

cover of man ten atelier instruction booklet

inside spread of man ten atelier instructions

front cover of french publication

inside spread of french publication

inside spread of french publication

inside spread of man ten atelier instructions

