Manchester School of Art Skill Share

I was invited by some fellow Manchester School of Art MA students to deliver a skill share workshop in the studio. I decided the skill I could most effectively share was book binding and zine making, and so I reconfigured my Forming/Storming/Performing workshop to focus on saddle stitch bookbinding and photocopied zine making.

As a group we created an illustrated zine based around a day in the life of an MA student, with a secondary timeline about the full time MA year. We then paginated, photocopied and bound it, all in two hours!

Below you can see some ‘work in progress’ photos, as well as the finished product, ‘Day in the Life’.

sketching out the zine in notebooks and loose sheets

photocopying the zine pages

stitching in the binding

finished zine 'day in the life'

