Zine Challenge @ The Fruitmarket Gallery

Last week I had a brilliant opportunity to lead a workshop for a group of young artists at The Fruitmarket in Edinburgh. The group are interested in making a zine/publication in response to the gallery’s current (highly recommended) Lousie Bourgeois exhibition, and so I went along to offer some publication design tips.

I didn’t have long to work with the group, so I decided to do a bit of ‘learning by doing’ and set them a challenge : to make a zine from one sheet of paper, in one hour. The results were diverse and interesting, with some really creative solutions.

people sat around a table discussing sketchbooks

Above you can see me imparting some wisdom, and below some creative folding, and a completed zine.

close up hands folding paper

folded zine illustrated with felt tips

