Lasercut Stamps

My MA practice work is now starting to take shape, and as part of it I have been working with visual language based on old bureaucratic forms and paperwork. A major part of this language for me is the use of rubber stamps, to sign off work, add value and reward effort, and so I decided to work on creating a stamp of my own to add a sense of authority to my paperwork.

rubber stamps with an M design

Using the Make Progress I have been developing as part of my practice work I laser etched the design into wood and lino,  and was really pleased with the results! As I expected the lino was more successful, and left a really satisfying inky mark.

I really enjoyed the process of laser etching, particularly as the end result was exactly what I was hoping for, and I’m looking forward to experimenting with it again.

