All Tomorrow’s Parties curated by The National

Last week, after years of trying and failing to make it, I finally got to All Tomorrow’s Parties, this year held at Pontins Camber Sands and curated by The National.

me wearing a scarf and coat on the beach
Enjoying the beach at Camber Sands, anticipating a day of challenging and seductive music.

I was pretty much overwhelmed by the novelty of visiting a music festival in a holiday camp, particularly as the line up was so exciting. I’ve long been an Owen Pallett fan, and as an Arcade Fire nerd I was psyched to see Richard Reed Parry performing, but it was the unexpected things that really made the weekend for me. Seeing Kronos Quartet and Richard Reed Parry’s ‘Music for Heart and Breath’ actually made me feel like my brain had been re-arranged and I came home feeling encouraged to apply a new kind of thoughtfulness and experimentation to my work.

Yeah that’s right, even when I’m having a good time with my friends at a music festival I’m still thinking ‘how does this apply to my practice?’.

