Visiting the William Morris Gallery

wiliam morris's blue plaque at the william morris gallery

‘With the arrogance of youth, I determined to do no less than to transform the world with beauty’

After my intended plans in London fell through I found myself at something of a loose end, and seized the opportunity to visit the William Morris Gallery in Walthamstow.

I’ve had a passing knowledge and slight interest in the Arts and Crafts movement in the past, but as I have begun my MA research have noted the similarities between William Morris’ approach to craft and the contemporary craftivism movement, and been inspired by many aspects of the Arts and Crafts movement.

I found visiting the William Morris Gallery inspiring and invigorating, and seeing work-in-progress sketches and original Kelmscott Press books made it that bit easier for me to trace the influence of Morris and his ideas into the modern day. Although I don’t intend for the Arts and Crafts movement to form a large part of my research seeing how Morris’ ideals informed his work, and vice versa, has sparked ideas about how I can bring my opinions and interests to my own work.

Of immediate interest could be the methods employed by Morris in creating work, from rejecting mechanical processes to his belief that ‘a harmonious piece of work should be done on one sheet’, both techniques that I could apply in my practice.

 

