Strategies of Thought : Umberto Eco on Translation

This week’s Strategy of Thought lecture (18/10/12) was Umberto Eco on Translation. I found the actual reading for this lecture easier, and even enjoyed some parts of it! The concepts of hypotyposis and ekphrasis were new to me, but with a little thinking they started to make sense, and translating ideas and words into visuals and other forms is obviously quite central to design practice.

As with last week, the studio seminar following the lecture was particularly illuminating for me. The discussion of rhetoric and the way style influences meaning was particularly relevant to my research, as craft techniques are often subverted and used to communicate harsh or confrontational messages. Ideas around authenticity also stuck out to me, as the background and context of work becomes more and more important in order to differentiate between true handcraft and commercial imitations.

